1. There are about 264 monkey species that people know.
  2. A girl monkey is called a female.
  3. A boy monkey is called a male.
  4. Monkeys are sorted into two groups, Old World monkeys that live in Africa and Asia, and New World monkeys that live in South America.
  5. A baboon is an Old World monkey, while a marmoset is an New World monkey.
  6. Apes are not monkeys. They are apes.
  7. Some monkeys live on the ground while others live in trees. The top trees are like monkey penthouses.
  8. Different monkeys eat all sorts of different foods like fruit, insects, flowers leaves and reptiles.
  9. Almost all monkeys have tails.
  10. A group of monkeys are called a tribe, troop or mission. If you see missions, they are on a mission;-)
  11. The Pygmy Marmoset is the smallest type of monkey, with adults weighing between 120 and 140 grams.
  12. The Mandrill is the largest type of monkey, with adult males weighing up to 35 kg. That’s big
  13. Capuchin monkeys are believed to be one of the smartest New World monkey species. They have the ability to use tools, learn new skills and show various signs of self-awareness.
  14. Spider monkeys get their name because of their long arms, legs and tail.
  15. The monkey is the 9th animal that appears on the Chinese zodiac, appearing as the zodiac sign in 2016.