Diagram showing Black rhinos body regions.

1.A rhinoceros’ name means “nose horn”. That horn must be heavy.

  1. A female rhino is called a cow.
  2. A male rhino is called a bull. Hopefully its peaceful when it sees the color red. 😉
  3. A baby rhino is called a calf.

5.There are five rhino species, the Black Rhinoceros, the White Rhinoceros, the Indian Rhinoceros, the Javan Rhinoceros, and the Sumatran Rhinoceros.

  1. The five species of rhinoceros live in various habitats, three live in southern Asia and two in Africa.
  2. White rhinos can weigh over 3500 kg!!! Even an elephant can’t carry that.
  3. White rhinoceros are the second largest land mammal after elephants.
  4. Did you know that three of the rhino species are endangered?
  5. Rhinos have thick protective skin.
  6. How are rhinos and ostriches alike? They both have small brains. 🙂
  7. Rhinos horns are made from a protein called keratin, the same thing that fingernails and hair are made of.
  8. Hunters hunt rhinos for their horns.
  9. Rhinoceros are herbivores which means that they eat plants.
  10. A group of rhinos are called a ‘herd’ or a ‘crash’.

16. White Rhino are grey, not white.